Home Admissions Catalog Financial Aid Schedules Distance Learning

Sept. 8, 2011
2011 HCC Founders Day event highlights trustee service

WELDON, N.C. – Halifax Community College held its Founders Day Ceremony, "44 Years of Service to the Roanoke Valley" Sept. 6 in The Centre. Chair of the North Carolina State Board of Community Colleges Hilda Pinnix-Ragland was the keynote speaker. This year’s event honored former and current trustees.

Pinnix-Ragland began by recognizing the leadership of HCC administration, trustees, faculty, staff and state legislators. "It takes everyone in this great county and this region to make Halifax Community College possible," she said. To all in attendance, she emphasized, "Your partnership is more vital now than it’s ever been in the school’s history."

In addition, Pinnix-Ragland explained six major responsibilities of community college trustees. These include: selecting the president, handling land transactions and construction, establishing standards for admission and graduation, providing instructional services for the college, approving expenses, and adopting and enforcing laws and bylaws.

The mission of a community college is to enhance the economic engine, explained Pinnix-Ragland. Students earn associate degrees and some go on to earn four-year degrees. Others who have four-year degrees come to community college to retool and earn an associate degree. "The cycle continues over and over. After all, it’s about the quality of life…It’s about getting a job. It’s about keeping a job," said Pinnix-Ragland.

"From the chartering of Halifax County Technical Institute in 1967 to the fall of 2011, Halifax Community College has strived to provide academic and workforce development programs second to none in North Carolina, second to none in the United States and second to none in the world. We realize that we are competing with the world in the arena of economic development," said HCC President Dr. Ervin V. Griffin Sr. during his opening comments.

Former trustees were honored including: A. Edwin Akers (1967-1981), Hugh Bazemore (1997-2003), Harry Branch (1989-2001), Kenneth Brantley (1989-1993, 1997-2005), Helen Brown (1998-2010), Doris Cochran (1971-1991), Roger Dalton (2002-2008), E. Houston Fuller (1982-1996), Herman Hargrove (1981), A.D. Haverstock (1967-1977), Betsy Tom-Homewood (1991-1997), Edgar Hutchinson (1979-1994), C. Kitchin Josey (1971-1975), Sarah Kittner (1983-1998), Robert Baylor Metcalfe Sr. (1967-1981), Michael Mills (1991-1994), Jack Moore (1994-2004), T.W. Myrick (1973-1979), Neal C. Phillips (1996-2002), Suetta Scarbrough (1983-2001), Watson N. Sherrod (1967-1983), Dr. C.L. Shoffner (1967-1987), Val Short (2000-2002), Dr. Phillip W. Taylor (1993-2001), Jim J. Temple (1985-1997), Robert Thorne (1979-1991), William Thorne (1971-1981), Faye J. Twisdale (1971-1989), E.K. Veach Sr. (1967-1985), Frederick Webb (2001-2005, 2009-2011), William O. White Jr. (1977-1984, 2003-2007), Barry Wilson (2002-2006), Becky Yates (1983-1999), Frankie Young (1987-2003) and George Young (1979-1985).

Current trustees were honored including: Frank V. Avent III, chair (2005-2013), Reggie Baird (2008-2012), Jay A. Baker (2007-2014), William Boseman III (2007-2011), David Cairns (2005-2013), Bettie Cofield (2010-2014), Bernella DeLaMora (1994-2000, 2003-2014), Dr. Stanley Edwards (2002-2014), Rachel Hux (2003-2014), Rev. Robert Knight (2003-2013) and Lillie J. Solomon (1985-2012). Solomon was also honored for more than 25 years of service as a trustee. She was recognized by the Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) for her service and was presented an ACCT lifetime membership and a plaque.

This was the third year that faculty and staff emeritus awards were presented:
• 2011 Faculty Emeritus honorees included Cathy Pruitt, George Shell and Gloria Tysinger
• 2011 Staff Emeritus honorees included Janet Clarke, Janet Humphries and Ruby Vincent Ward

Other program participants included: Rev. LaCount Anderson of the Union Mission, Trustee Chair Frank V. Avent III, Representatives Angela Bryant and Michael Wray, Senator Ed Jones, Deborah Hawkins, Wynette Richardson, Dr. Erica Holmes, and Deborah Armstrong. The Amazing Voices of HCC provided entertainment during the event.

Photo Cutline: Halifax Community College held its Founders Day Ceremony, “44 Years of Service to the Roanoke Valley” Sept. 6 in The Centre. Pictured are: front row from left, Janet Humphries, Kenneth Brantley, Dr. Stanley Edwards, Lillie J. Solomon, Suetta Scarbrough, Becky Yates, Frank V. Avent III; back row from left, Rev. Robert Knight, Frankie Young, Ruby Vincent Ward, Bettie Cofield, Bernella DeLaMora, Gloria Tysinger, Hilda Pinnix-Ragland and Dr. Ervin V. Griffin Sr.
Halifax Community College’s Mission
Halifax Community College strives to meet the diverse needs of our community by providing high-quality, accessible and affordable education and services for a rapidly changing and globally competitive marketplace.
Primary Media Contact: Melanie Temple, Public Information Officer, templem@halifaxcc.edu, 252-538-4319

Secondary Media Contact: Linnie S. Carter, Ph.D., APR, Vice President of Institutional Advancement, Halifax Community College and Executive Director of the Halifax Community College Foundation Inc., carterl@halifaxcc.edu, 252-536-7239