Home Admissions Catalog Financial Aid Schedules Distance Learning


HCC Phi Theta Kappa Members Inducted for Spring '11

Halifax Community College (HCC) held a Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society Induction Ceremony, April 12. The Alpha Eta Phi Chapter welcomed five new members into the honor society this year.


New members included Vincent Bellamy (Scotland Neck), Crissy Garner (Roanoke Rapids), Jessica Hedspeth (Roanoke Rapids), James Moriarty (Littleton) and James Simmons (Weldon).


Dr. Mary Davis with Halifax Regional Medical Center was the guest speaker. “This has been a long journey for you. I know you have taken initiative and that you want to make a difference…Now, reflect on how you got where you are,” she said to the inductees. “We are all born into this world and we all make choices.” Davis encouraged students to enrich their lives and the lives of those around them.


The Alpha Eta Phi Chapter was chartered at HCC on April 1, 1982. Since then, the chapter has inducted more than 500 members, representing the top 10 percent of the student population. To qualify for membership, students must be enrolled in an associate degree program and must maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.5 (full-time) and 3.7 (part-time). Students must be of good moral character and possess recognized qualities of leadership.


Currently, PTK is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than two million members and 1,200 chapters. It was established in Missouri by two-year college presidents in 1918, and serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming.

  HCC Phi Theta Kappa Members Inducted for Spring '11  

New members of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society Alpha Eta Phi Chapter were inducted on April 12. Pictured are James Simmons, Jessica Hedspeth, Crissy Garner, PTK Alpha Eta Phi Chapter Advisor Shaun Stokes, Vincent Bellamy, and James Moriarty.