Home Admissions Catalog Financial Aid Schedules Distance Learning

Oct. 23, 2014
Donors and students honored by HCC Foundation Inc.
WELDON, N.C. – Halifax Community College (HCC) Foundation Inc. has awarded 105 scholarships to 72 HCC students, totaling $73,420 for the 2014-15 academic year. The list of scholarship recipients follows.

Generous individuals, businesses, civic and professional groups make scholarship awards possible. The scholarships vary in amount and selection criteria. Donors and scholarship recipients were honored during the annual Donor Recognition Luncheon and Scholarship Awards Ceremony, Oct. 23. The luncheon was sponsored by PNC Bank.

Sarah Parker, a nursing student, talked about what scholarships mean to her. "I would like to take a few moments…to share my story and express my gratitude to the donors that take time to review the financial needs and make the gracious choice to invest in our educational future," said Parker. "It is because of your special contribution that my fellow students and I are able to attend college and have the opportunity to achieve our educational goals that will in turn lead us to have successful careers."

Ann Martin of the Pilot Club of Roanoke Valley Inc. talked about why the club supports the HCC Foundation Inc. "We are a service organization," said Martin. "Pilot Club is all over the world, but we wanted our scholarship to stay local…We were thrived to have Halifax Community College." She taught at HCC when the campus was located on Highway 301 and at its present location, "I was really glad to bring our scholarship home."

The HCC Foundation Inc. was established in 1976. The Foundation provides new sources of funding for the College to implement its programs and services and assists students with funding their college education. The Foundation was created as the main vehicle for raising tax-deductible funds from the private sector. For information about contributing to the Foundation, contact Dr. Dianne Rhoades at 252-536-7239 or dbarnes-rhoades128@halifaxcc.edu or visit the HCC website at http://www.halifaxcc.edu/Foundation/.

Scholarships Scholarship Recipients
AT&T Christopher Rauhe
Augustus C. and Reather M. Cofield Evelyn Phillips
Benny Strickland Memorial Sara DeWald
Citizens Community Bank Sherwainke Mitchell
C.L. Kelly Educational Lisa Lynch
Charles Preston McElheney Family Desmond Johnson
Clellie M. Taylor Memorial Sherry Davis
Connie Pittman Wardsworth Memorial Jasmine Jones
Cummins Educational Deborah Wray
Daily Herald Women in Business Evelyn Phillips
Damien S. Hawkins Memorial Shereen Butler, Cynthia Edwards
Donald Ray Thompson Memorial Patrick Simmons
Edgar and Mary Hutchinson Memorial Laura Hux
Ellen Davis Eudy Alpha Delta Kappa Memorial Ames Scott
Enfield Chamber of Commerce Samantha Bell
Fannye Marks-Marcella and Bob Liverman Sarah Parker
Faye Jessup Twisdale Memorial Cheryl Barriger
Frances Cecil Gunn Memorial Christie Keeter, Erica Williams
Fraternal Order of Eagles, Aerie #3772 Kalya Arrington
Georgia-Pacific Corporation Jasmine Jones
Gloria Amelia Maxwell Memorial Demond Alston
Halifax Regional Medical Center Auxiliary Deanna Mills, Sandra Parks
Harry A. Branch Memorial Demond Alston
HCC Assoc. of Educational Office Professionals Disha Lashley
HCC Associate Degree Nursing Alumni Angela Powell
HCC Honors Krislyn Askew, Joseph Elias
HCC Leadership Award Christine Bass, James Boswell, Holly Britton, Alexis Cox, Brandy Dickens, Billie Duncan, Sally Edwards, Sarah Parker, Ames Scott, Melissa Warren
HCC Sophomore Melinda Compton, Brittany Daniel, Elaina Felts, Cassie Lyles, Deanna Mills, Kristen Robinson, Courtney Shea, Savannah Vargas, Miranda Wheeler
HCC Student Services John Mills III
Heilig-Meyers Kristen Robinson
Hoffman-Arthur Dental Hygiene Brittany Clary, Sara DeWald, Dionte Jones
Howerton Gowen Memorial Dwan Liggins
James Tillery Pope Memorial Tonia Chambers
John W. Manning Memorial John Mills III
John Walter Bell Memorial Courtney Shea
Joy Daniels-Lewis Memorial Nursing CeAntré Black
Julia Stanley-Elizabeth Hitchings Memorial Johnathan Wilson
Kapstone Kraft Paper Corporation Lamont Langford
Lake Gaston Computer Club James Boswell
Libby Grant Jalen Miller
Magnolia Gardens Health Care Sandra Parks
Margaret Gunn Taylor Memorial Samuel Lawrence
New Dixie Oil Corporation Michael Abernathy
New Life Lisa Lynch
Northampton-Halifax High School Joseph Elias
Peggy V. Babb Memorial Amanda Mason
Pete Amsler-Stray Cats Hot Rod Association Adam Cain
Phillip W. Taylor Laura Hux
Ralph J. Bunche Class of 1961 Desmond Johnson
Raybon Bone Memorial DeAntré Richardson
Rev. & Mrs. Daniel Hux Deanna Mills
Rhoades Enterprise Kimberly Collins
Rightmyer Machine Rentals Lamont Langford
Roanoke Rapids Lions Club James Bell II
Roanoke Valley Chamber of Commerce Award Christine Bass, Jolesa Deloatch, Khadijah Hux, Charnella Leary, Lashonda Lopez, Karmunisha Richardson, Lateisha Simmons, Silvester Squire, Teresa Squire, Sherrita Stevens, Westry Thorpe Jr., Teneal Vaughan
Roanoke Valley Home Builders Joseph Elias
Robert B. Metcalfe Memorial Cassie Lyles
Robert Whitley Memorial Rotary Cynthia Edwards, Melissa Warren
Rose and Louis Kittner Memorial Charnella Leary
Roanoke Rapids Hospital Nurses’ Alumni Elaina Felts
Ruby Vincent Ward Sherry Davis
Sandra Lee Ward Memorial Miranda Wheeler
Sara Crawley Boseman Memorial Khadijah Hux
State Employees Credit Union Foundation Tonia Chambers, DeAntré Richardson, Holly Britton, Cassie Lyles
W. B. Hux Memorial Savannah Vargas
Wells Fargo Christian Taylor
Scholarship Awards
HCC Nursing Student Sarah Parker
Scholarship Award
HCC Foundation Inc. Board Chairman Steve Medlin, Vice President of Institutional Advancement and Executive Director of the HCC Foundation Inc. Dr. Dianne Rhoades, Ann Martin with Pilot Club of Roanoke Valley Inc. and HCC President Dr. Ervin V. Griffin Sr.
Halifax Community College’s Mission
Halifax Community College strives to meet the diverse needs of our community by providing high-quality, accessible and affordable education and services for a rapidly changing and globally competitive marketplace.
Primary Media Contact: Melanie Temple, Director of Public Relations and Marketing, mtemple295@halifaxcc.edu, 252-538-4319

Secondary Media Contact: Dr. Dianne Rhoades, Vice President of Institutional Advancement, Halifax Community College and Executive Director of the Halifax Community College Foundation Inc., dbarnes-rhoades128@halifaxcc.edu, 252-536-7239