Home Admissions Catalog Financial Aid Schedules Distance Learning

May  31, 2013
HCC Leadership Institute hosts Graduation 2013
WELDON, N.C. – Halifax Community College (HCC) Leadership Institute held a graduation ceremony on May 29. Twenty-four HCC faculty and staff completed the program. Sherida Gholston was the institute’s coordinator. Graduates included:
  • B.T. Brown
  • Laura Cobb
  • Cindy Collins
  • Marie Daniel-Sivels
  • Howard Epps
  • Walter Goode
  • Kelly Harvey
  • George Holley
  • Iris Johnson
  • Jennifer Jones
  • Dr. Kevin Kupietz
  • Dr. Adriane Leche’
  • Marcus Lewis
  • Daniel Lovett
  • Bob Lufkin
  • Teresa Mayle
  • Sarah Nesbit
  • Dr. Dianne Rhoades
  • Wynette Richardson
  • Debra Smith
  • Calvin Stansbury
  • Hunter Taylor
  • James Washington
  • Sandra Weden
About the HCC Leadership Institute The institute is a year-long leadership program for the College’s employees. It is limited to 25 participants and features individual professional development and team-building activities. The institute includes a series of professional seminars and interactive sessions presented by local and state leaders in higher education. The institute is funded in part by the U.S. Department of Education PBI Formula Grant.

The 2012-13 Leadership Calendar included:
  • Sept. 14, 2012: Dr. Donny Hunter—Leading versus Managing
  • Oct. 12, 2012: Dr. R. Scott Ralls—Leadership in the N.C. Community College System; Jennifer Haygood—Leadership and the Budget; Q. Shante’ Martin—Religion in the Workplace
  • Nov. 16, 2012: Dr. George Vaughn—Lessons in Leadership Over a Lifetime
  • Dec. 8, 2012: Nehemiah Group—Leading Forward
  • Feb. 8, 2013: Community College Presidents—The Presidents’ Roundtable
  • Feb. 22, 2013: Dr. Edna Kolovani—Strategic Planning
  • April 10, 2013: Visit to the General Assembly for Education Day in Raleigh, N.C.
  • May 16, 2013: Leadership Retreat at Tidewater Community College in Norfolk, Va.
Pictured front row, from left, are Sherida Gholston, James Washington, Wynette Richardson, Marie Daniel-Sivels, Dr. Dianne Rhoades, Teresa Mayle, Cindy Collins and Iris Johnson; second row, Daniel Lovett, Jennifer Jones, Kelly Harvey, Dr. Adriane Leche’, Sarah Nesbit, Laura Cobb, Marcus Lewis and B.T. Brown; back row, Dr. Kevin Kupietz, Walter Goode, Hunter Taylor, Bob Lufkin and George Holley. Not pictured: Howard Epps, Debra Smith, Calvin Stansbury and Sandra Weden.
Halifax Community College’s Mission
Halifax Community College strives to meet the diverse needs of our community by providing high-quality, accessible and affordable education and services for a rapidly changing and globally competitive marketplace.
Primary Media Contact: Melanie Temple, Director of Public Relations and Marketing, mtemple295@halifaxcc.edu, 252-538-4319

Secondary Media Contact: Dr. Dianne Rhoades, Interim Vice President of Institutional Advancement, Halifax Community College and Interim Executive Director of the Halifax Community College Foundation Inc., dbarnes-rhoades128@halifaxcc.edu, 252-536-7239