Home Admissions Catalog Financial Aid Schedules Distance Learning

. HCC Phi Theta Kappa Members Inducted for Spring ‘09

Halifax Community College (HCC) held a Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society Induction Ceremony, March 26. The Alpha Eta Phi Chapter-Carolinas Region welcomed 21 new members into the honor society.


New members included Mary Anderson-Faison, Cailey Auvil, Casey Baird, Shirlon Battle, Crystal Bell, Nancy Cummings, Jessica Duncan, Melody Eldred, Kimberly Harris, Elizabeth Lamberson, Ranu Manik, Marion Payne, Katie Penley, Brenda Phillips, Courtney Powell, Lagolia Price, Theresa Raymond, Annette Squire, Samantha Vester, Hilda Whelen, and Karl Wiltsie, III.


Dr. Erica Holmes, vice president of Instructional Services, was the guest speaker. Her message focused on community service and how that service should be a part of the students’ community college experience. “Find your passion,” said Holmes. “You are making a difference in the lives of others.”


The Alpha Eta Phi Chapter was chartered at HCC on April 1, 1982. Since then, the chapter has inducted more than 400 members. To qualify for membership, students must be enrolled in an associate degree program and must maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.5 (full-time) and 3.7 (part-time). Students must be of good moral character and possess recognized qualities of leadership.


Currently, PTK is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members and 1,200 chapters. It was established in Missouri by two-year college presidents in 1918, and serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming.

Spring 2009 Phi Theta Kappa Inductees

New members of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society Alpha Eta Phi Chapter were inducted, March 26. Pictured are (front row, left) Karl Wiltsie III, Theresa Raymond, PTK Advisor Shaun Stokes, Annette Squire, Samantha Vester (second row) Katie Penley, Nancy Cummings, Brenda Phillips, Jessica Duncan, Courtney Powell, Melody Eldred (third row) Mary Anderson-Faison, Shirlon Battle, and Crystal Bell.