Home Admissions Catalog Financial Aid Schedules Distance Learning


HCC honors employees at annual Service Awards Ceremony


Halifax Community College employees were honored during the Distinguished Service Awards Ceremony, April 21 at The Centre. Teacher of the Year, Part-Time Teacher of the Year, Innovator Award, Spirit Award, Staff Award, the Presidentís Leadership Award, and service awards were presented. Student Government Association awards of appreciation were also presented.

  Distinguished Service Awards  
  Distinguished Service Award Recipients: Kelly Harvey, Dean Barbara Hasty, Patricia Gonshor, Ethel Edwards, Dawn Veliky, Ellen Grant, Bernard Washington, Cindy Collins, and Shaun Stokes on behalf of LaRae Butcher with Dr. Ervin V. Griffin Sr. (back row, second from left).  


This yearís Excellence in Teaching Award was presented to Allied Health Division Chair and Nursing Instructor Kelly Harvey. The Part-Time Excellence in Teaching Award went to Part-Time English Instructor LaRae Butcher. These selections are based on consistent, excellent job behaviors that exhibit unselfish devotion and significant contributions to student success, student interactions and successful experiences and outcomes, classroom success and effective learning results, innovations in teaching, leadership roles beyond the classroom, professional development activities and experiences that enhance teaching effectiveness, and past recognition and awards received as a faculty member.


Two Innovator Awards were presented. Honorees were Director of Admissions & Recruitment Services James Bernard Washington and Accounting & Payroll Technician Patricia Gonshor. It is presented to the HCC employee who has implemented a fresh or new idea that addresses the mission of the college. Selection criteria includes innovation that supports the collegeís mission, impact of the innovation, cost effectiveness, sustainability, applications, and creativity.


The Staff Award was presented to Registrar & Director of Veterans Affairs Dawn Veliky. Selection is based on commitment and unique contributions to HCC, its students, and to the community college experience. Consistent, excellent performance on the job, exhibiting unselfish devotion to duty far and above normal requirements and significant contribution to the advancement of HCC and its students as well as responsible, efficient use of time, money, technology, personnel and/or other resources for the benefit of HCC, its students, and its community are considered.


The Presidentís Leadership Award is presented to an employee who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in support of HCCís mission. The awards committee selects the recipient based on leadership traits, setting the example for others to follow, personal commitment and extraordinary dedication to the college mission, achievement and demonstrated accomplishments, and self-improvement. The recipients included Dean of Student Services & Enrollment Management Barbara Bradley-Hasty, Computer Skills Specialist Ellen Grant and Cashier Ethel Edwards.


The Spirit Award went to Financial Aid Specialist Cindy Collins. It is presented to the HCC employee who exemplifies cooperation and enthusiasm and serves as a positive reflection of the collegeís mission. Selection is based on demonstrating a strong commitment to the community through activities that positively impact the region, participating in college activities, facilitating positive collaboration within the college, exhibiting a proactive attitude, motivating co-workers and students to excel, service as a spokesperson and advocate for the college, demonstrating a strong commitment to the college, and contributing to the effectiveness of the college to carry out its mission.

  5 years of service  
  5 Years of Service (from left to right): Thomas Bracy, Shaun Stokes, Deborah Boone, Don Worrock, Delois Mercer, and Melanie Temple. (not pictured: Dr. Ervin V. Griffin, Sr.)  


Service awards were given to full-time employees who have reached certain anniversaries of service. Those with five years of service were Don Worrock, Robert White, Thomas Bracy, Delois Mercer, Deborah Boone, Shaun Stokes, Melanie Temple and HCC President Dr. Ervin V. Griffin, Sr.

  10 years of service  
  10 Years of Service (from left to right): Beverly Reynolds, Fredia Webb, Linda Smith, and Shawn Rudd. (not pictured: James McCachren, George Shell, Hunter Taylor, and Bonnie Benthall.)  


Those with 10 years of service were James McCachren, George Shell, Linda Smith, Hunter Taylor, Fredia Webb, Jerry Thompson, Beverly Reynolds, Shawn Rudd and Bonnie Benthall.


  15 ears of service  
  15 Years of Service (from left to right): Cindy Collins, Ricky Nowell, Tyrone Parker, Dean Barbara Hasty. (not pictured: B.T. Brown)  

B.T. Brown, Cindy Collins, Barbara Hasty, Tyrone Parker and Ricky Nowell were recognized for 15 years of service.


  20 years of service  
  20 Years of Service (from left to right): Rhonda Segars and Doris Garner.  

Those with 20 years of service were Doris Garner and Rhonda Segars.


  35 Years of Service  
  35 Years of Service (from left to right): Jean McGee and Gloria Tysinger.  

Gloria Tysinger and Jean McGee were recognized for 35 years of service.


Retirees recognized were Ruby Vincent Ward, Cathy Farabow Pruitt, Janet Clarke and Cathy Vassor.


The Student Government Association also presented awards of appreciation. Vice President of Institutional Advancement Tom Schwartz and Teresa Rice Arrington of Pearlís Catering were honored for their continued support of SGA.