Home Admissions Catalog Financial Aid Schedules Distance Learning

HCCs Griffin honored with Legends Award


Halifax Community College President, Dr. Ervin V. Griffin, Sr. was recently presented the West Virginia All Black Schools Sports and Academic Hall of Fame Legends Award at the Charleston Marriott in Charleston, W.Va.


The Legends Award is granted to pioneers of progress and the first or last to achieve in their areas. The award acknowledges the efforts of African American educators and their service to students and the nation. It honors contributions of both past and present. Griffin was recognized as the first African American administrator and professor at Southwest Virginia Community College, first president of West Virginia State Community and Technical College (now Kanawha Valley Community College), first graduate brother from the District of West Virginia named Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.s National Outstanding Alumni Brother of the Year in 2000, and first African American president of HCC.


Griffin is a graduate of Excelsior and Big Creek High School. He earned his B.S. degree in teacher education from Bluefield State College; M.S. Degree in College Student Personnel Services from Western Illinois University; Certificate of Advanced Graduate Studies in Higher Education Administration from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University; and the Doctorate of Education in Community College Education from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. He also completed postdoctoral studies in College Management at Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, Pa., and the Millennium Leadership Institute sponsored by the American Association of State Colleges and Universities, Washington, D.C.  Griffin is a graduate of Leadership West Virginia, Class of 1994. 


The hall of fame was established in 2006 in order to preserve the history of black education in West Virginia prior to 1954. It also serves to champion the legacies of former, unrecognized academic and athletic role models and network with the 20 other states that had segregated schools to form a national hall of fame.