Home Admissions Catalog Financial Aid Schedules Distance Learning

HCC News

print this article
Mar. 6, 2017
HCC to Host Induction Ceremony for Phi Theta Kappa
WELDON, N.C. – Halifax Community College (HCC) is proud to host the spring induction ceremony for the Alpha Phi Eta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa. The induction will take place on March 7 at 6:00 p.m. at The Centre@HCC.

Recognized as one of the oldest honor societies in the world, Phi Theta Kappa members uphold the four key tenants of the organization: scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship. To be inducted in to the HCC chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, a student must have earned 12 credit hours at HCC, maintaining a grade point average of at least 3.5. In addition, the invitation-only honor society considers the academic integrity and moral standing of each individual eligible for induction.

This year, there are 46 current members who will re-state the oath during the induction ceremony. The current members of Phi Theta Kappa are as follows: Terra Almendarez, Kendra Battle, Keely Beal, Jasmine Boyce, A'mya Bracy, Cynthia Bryant, Felisha Brinson, Joseph Brown, Kelsey Burd, Charisma Daniel, Elizabeth Evans, Brenda Everett, Anthony Finney, Lakinta Garner, Jessica Harris, Trassie Hewlin, Virginia Howell, Natashja Hunter, Aniya Kee, Jacqueline Jacobs, Alexis Jennings, Jasmine Jones, Brittany Lopez, Jessica Lynch, Alicia Massey, Jermaine Miles, Barbara Miller, Timothy Mitchell, Romeka Moody, Tammy Moseley, Charnekia Rudd, Jennifer Sheley, Christopher Smith, Teidra Sykes, Gabrielle Thorpe, Kelley Trevino, Thomas Turner, Jacob Twisdale, Larry Vaughan, Belinda Williams, Monique Williams, Siyata Winfield, Stephanie Witten, and Lonnie Wood.

In addition, there are 23 new students who have been invited to take the Phi Theta Kappa oath, joining the organization. The newest inductees are as follows: Lacey Balmer, Kaeley Caudle, Shereal Harvey, Larrell Lewis, Melissa Lipcsey, Paige Marsh, Samantha Martin, Andrea Mason, Nichole Medlin, Karl Miller, Garrett Morris, William Peacock, Jessica Pearson, Tin Pham, Alice Quille, Zaquantai Sears, Justin Smith, August Solomon, Taylor Strickland, Lashonda Sykes, Sydney Taylor, Brandee Vaughan, and Terrance Woodley.

About Phi Theta Kappa
Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society of two-year colleges and academic programs, particularly community colleges and junior colleges. The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa provides opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.
Halifax Community College's Mission
Halifax Community College strives to meet the diverse needs of our community by providing high-quality, accessible and affordable education and services for a rapidly changing and globally competitive marketplace.
Media Contact: Molly Wallace, Director of Public Relations & Marketing, mwallace786@halifaxcc.edu, 252-538-4319