Home Admissions Catalog Financial Aid Schedules Distance Learning

HCC News

print this article
Feb. 19, 2016
HCC Phi Theta Kappa members inducted for Spring 2016
WELDON, N.C. – Halifax Community College (HCC) held a Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society Induction Ceremony, Feb 18. The Alpha Eta Phi Chapter welcomed 19 new members. Program participants were Kierra Pittman and Terra Almendarez, PTK student members, Sandra Weden, former Phi Theta Kappa advisor, Stephanie Meadows and Gary Redding, co-advisors of Phi Theta Kappa, Dr. Deryl Davis Fulmer, vice president of academic affairs and President of HCC, Dr. Ervin V. Griffin Sr.

Dr. Griffin was speaker for the evening and gave an impressive speech on "What is a Winner?" He stated, "You represent the students who have worked hard and given of themselves and put in effort in order to achieve. Make no mistake about it. The honors you will be receiving tonight are not 'handouts’ that everyone can receive. Rather, they are meaningful and real representations of an effort beyond the usual, of work that excels beyond the ordinary, of effort and work and time and spirit that go well beyond what is expected of people of your age…In short, you are winners because you are always ready to tackle something new, while the loser is prone to believe that it simply cannot be done…You are to be congratulated."

Inductees include:
  • Caitlin Abrams
  • Keely Beal
  • Joan Caine
  • Brooke Carpenter
  • Pattie Eason
  • Elizabeth Evans
  • Anthony Finney
  • Jessica Harris
  • Aniya Kee
  • Brittany Lopex
  • Alicia Massey
  • Jacqueline Modeste
  • Tammy Moseley
  • Charmekia Rudd
  • Christopher Smith
  • Teidra Sykes
  • Jacob Sykes
  • Jacob Twisdale
  • Belinda Williams
  • Stephanie Witten
PTK inductees
Pictured are PTK inductees, PTK student members, HCC faculty and administrators. Not pictured are Christopher Smith and Teidra Sykes.
Halifax Community College's Mission
Halifax Community College strives to meet the diverse needs of our community by providing high-quality, accessible and affordable education and services for a rapidly changing and globally competitive marketplace.
Media Contact: Dr. Dianne Rhoades, Vice President of Institutional Advancement, Halifax Community College and Executive Director of the Halifax Community College Foundation Inc., dbarnes-rhoades128@halifaxcc.edu, 252-536-7239