Home Admissions Catalog Financial Aid Schedules Distance Learning

Oct. 11, 2012
HCC Foundation Inc. to honor donors and recognize students
WELDON, N.C. – Halifax Community College (HCC) Foundation Inc. has awarded 102 scholarships to 51 HCC students, totaling $78,729 for the 2012-13 academic year. The list of scholarship recipients follows.

Generous individuals, businesses, civic and professional groups make scholarship awards possible. The scholarships vary in amount and selection criteria. Donors and scholarship recipients will be honored during the upcoming Donor Recognition Luncheon and Scholarship Awards Ceremony, Oct. 25.

The HCC Foundation Inc. was established in 1976. The Foundation provides new sources of funding for the College to implement its programs and services and assists students with funding their college education. The Foundation was created as the main vehicle for raising tax-deductible funds from the private sector. For information about contributing to the Foundation, contact Dr. Dianne Rhoades at 252-536-7239 or rhoadesd@halifaxcc.edu or visit the HCC website at http://www.halifaxcc.edu/Foundation/.

Scholarships Scholarship Recipients
911 Sherry Davis
Alice J. Lewter Memorial Sidney Nesmith
Bernice Hatchell Hobday Memorial Nursing Uchena Okafor
Charles Preston McElheney Family Debra Lynch
Connie Pittman Wardsworth Memorial Stacy Smith-Pittman
Daily Herald Women In Business Deborah Herring
Damian S. Hawkins Memorial Latara Abington, Barbara Massey
District 17 of NC Nurses Association Damon Lomax
Dr. Laura Walton Buffaloe Debra Lynch
Earl Houston Fuller Memorial Jacob Griffies
Edgar and Mary Loy Hutchinson Memorial Ethan Johnson
Elizabeth Marie Nielsen Schuelke Memorial Uchena Okafor
Ellen Davis Eudy Memorial Sherleen Person
Emery W. Doughtie Memorial Rae Elliott
Fannye Marks-Marcella and Bob Liverman Sandra Parks
Faye Jessup Twisdale Memorial Rodney Lashley
Frank V. Avent III/Business Administration Sherwainke Mitchell
Gloria Amelia Maxwell Memorial Sidney Nesmith
Halifax Community College Associate Degree Nursing Kendall Warrick
Halifax Community College Association of Educational Office Professionals Ashley Traylor
Halifax Community College Dental Hygiene Kassandra King
Halifax Community College Education Juanita Woodley
Halifax Community College Freshman Uchena Okafor
Halifax Community College Leadership Latara Abington, CeAntre’ Black, Maci Bridgers, Tasha Cherry, Glen Debrow, Antonio Edmonds, Rae Elliott, Lauren Grimes, Keaundra Johnson, Kassandra King, Katherine Little, Damon Lomax, Tina Luke, Debra Lynch, Gloria Manley, Tonya Mason, Barbara Massey, Sherleen Person, Freda Rawlings, Teresa Squire, Juanita Woodley, Deborah Wray
Halifax Community College Returning Adult Ethan Johnson, Destiny Morris, Ashley Traylor, Kendall Warrick
Halifax Community College Sophomore Jacob Griffies, Jessica Newbold, Stacy Smith-Pittman, Julie Warren
Halifax Community College Student Services Natalie Moseley
Halifax County Firefighters Association Sherry Davis
Harry, Evelyn and Josephine Freid Bridgette Goode
Hoffman - Arthur Dental Hygiene Maci Bridgers, Lauren Grimes, Kassandra King
Holmes Men of Distinction Wayne Harrison
Holmes Women of Excellence Juanita Woodley
Homewood Grady Lyons
Howerton Gowen Memorial Freda Rawlings
John Manning Memorial Glen Debrow
John Walter Bell Memorial Jessica Newbold
Joy Daniels-Lewis Memorial Nursing Tonya Mason
Julia Stanley and Elizabeth Hitchings Memorial Jeffrey Weeden
Kathryn Dunlow Heustess Memorial Michael Lynch
Libby Grant Tonya Mason
Lillie J. Solomon Tasha Cherry, Kabreiia Silver
Margaret and Linwood Nixon, Sr. Nursing Tonya Mason
Margaret Gunn Taylor Memorial Sherleen Person
Nash Edgecombe Halifax Dental Society Shaunna Bethea
New Dixie Oil Corporation Wayne Harrison
New Life Grady Lyons
Newsom Oil Company Destiny Morris
Nikki Batten Memorial Nursing Deborah Herring
Peggy V. Babb Memorial Stacy Smith-Pittman
Pete Amsler/Stray Cats Hot Rod Association Melvin Ivey
Pilot Club of Roanoke Valley Damon Lomax
Ralph J. Bunche Class of 1961 Tasha Cherry
Raybon Bone Memorial Antonio Edmonds
Rightmyer Machine Rental Construction Glen Debrow, Antonio Edmonds, Ethan Johnson
Roanoke Electric Cooperative Donald White
Roanoke Rapids Jaycees Nakia Wright
Roanoke Rapids Lions Club Destiny Morris
Roanoke Valley Chamber of Commerce GED Barbara Massey
Robert L. Armstrong Memorial Deborah Herring
Robert Whitley Memorial Rotary Matthew Lail
Ruby Vincent Ward Sherleen Person
Sandra Lee Ward Memorial Jacob Griffies
State Employees Credit Union Rae Elliott, Miriah Lynch, Tonya Mason
Wells Fargo Technical Shaunna Bethea
Wilkie Real Estate Inc. Gloria Manley
Halifax Community College’s Mission
Halifax Community College strives to meet the diverse needs of our community by providing high-quality, accessible and affordable education and services for a rapidly changing and globally competitive marketplace.
Primary Media Contact: Melanie Temple, Director of Public Relations and Marketing, templem@halifaxcc.edu, 252-538-4319

Secondary Media Contact: Dr. Dianne Rhoades, Interim Vice President of Institutional Advancement, Halifax Community College and Interim Executive Director of the Halifax Community College Foundation Inc., rhoadesd@halifaxcc.edu, 252-536-7239