Home Admissions Catalog Financial Aid Schedules Distance Learning

HCC honors employees at annual Service Awards Ceremony


Halifax Community College employees were honored during the Distinguished Service Awards Ceremony, Apr. 28 at The Centre. Teacher of the Year, Part-Time Teacher of the Year, Innovator Award, Spirit Award, Staff Award, the President’s Leadership Award, and service awards were presented.


This year’s Excellence in Teaching Award was presented to Chair and Instructor in the Science Department Terry Wheeler. Excellence in Teaching Part-Time Award went to Phlebotomy Instructor Tammy Glover. These selections are based on consistent, excellent job behaviors that exhibit unselfish devotion and significant contributions to student success, student interactions and successful experiences and outcomes, classroom success and effective learning results, innovations in teaching, leadership roles beyond the classroom, professional development activities and experiences that enhance teaching effectiveness, and past recognition and awards received as a faculty member.


The Innovator Award went to English Instructor and SACS Coordinator Cathy Farabow. It is presented to the HCC employee who has implemented a fresh or new idea that addresses the mission of the college. Selection criteria includes innovation that supports the college’s mission, impact of the innovation, cost effectiveness, sustainability, applications, and creativity.


The Staff Award was presented to Library Technical Assistant Jean McGee. Selection is based on commitment and unique contributions to HCC, its students, and to the community college experience. Consistent, excellent performance on the job, exhibiting unselfish devotion to duty far and above normal requirements and significant contribution to the advancement of HCC and its students as well as responsible, efficient use of time, money, technology, personnel and/or other resources for the benefit of HCC, its students, and its community are considered.


The President’s Leadership Award is presented to an employee who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in support of HCC’s mission. The awards committee selects the recipient based on leadership traits, setting the example for others to follow, personal commitment and extraordinary dedication to the college mission, achievement and demonstrated accomplishments, and self-improvement. The recipients included Graphic Artist/Printer Kim Edwards, English Instructor, Leader of the General Education Assessment team and QEP member James McCachren, and Vice President for Institutional Advancement and Executive Director of the Foundation Tom Schwartz.


The Spirit Award went to Public Information Officer Melanie Temple. It is presented to the HCC employee who exemplifies cooperation and enthusiasm and serves as a positive reflection of the college’s mission. Selection is based on demonstrating a strong commitment to the community through activities that positively impact the region, participating in college activities, facilitating positive collaboration within the college, exhibiting a proactive attitude, motivating co-workers and students to excel, service as a spokesperson and advocate for the college, demonstrating a strong commitment to the college, and contributing to the effectiveness of the college to carry out its mission.


Service awards were given to full-time employees who have reached certain anniversaries of service. Those with five years of service were Tami Argo, Bryan Carter, Ricky Collier, Mary Gail Cooper, Howard Dupee, Dr. Julie Galvin, Chuckie Hairston, Kelly Harvey, Phillip Harris III, Ray Hester, Verna High, Rhonda Johnston, Jennifer Jones, D.J. Markham, Patricia Monical, Vera Palmer, Stanley Ricks Jr., Jason Shotwell, Michael Swain, Catherine Sykes, Tamba Thompson, Holly White and Cleophus Wilkins.


Those with 10 years of service were Deborah Armstrong, Beth Gray-Robertson, Kenneth Harris, Katherine Sandlin and Charles Wilkinson.


Sandra Hammack, Iris Johnson, Donna Sellers and John Stams were recognized for 15 years of service.


John Hunsucker was recognized for 20 years of service and Don Beaver was recognized for 25 years of service.


Retirees recognized were Dr. Joy Cooley, Russ Barrett, William “Bill” Evans, Glenda Vassor, John Stams and Terry Wheeler.


The Student Government Association also presented a first-ever SGA Award of Appreciation. The award was given to WNVN’s Marie Torres for her hard work and dedication.

Click here to see the photo slideshow from the event.