Home Admissions Catalog Financial Aid Schedules Distance Learning

HCC honors employees at annual Service Awards Ceremony


Halifax Community College employees were honored during the Distinguished Service Awards Ceremony, Apr. 28 at The Centre. Teacher of the Year, Part-Time Teacher of the Year, Innovator Award, Spirit Award, Staff Award, the President’s Leadership Award, and service awards were presented. Student Government Association awards of appreciation were also presented.


This year’s Excellence in Teaching Award was presented to Math Instructor Calvin Stansbury. Part-Time Excellence in Teaching Awards went to Basic Reading Class Instructor Johnny Tripp and Psychology Instructor Jenne Vaughan. These selections are based on consistent, excellent job behaviors that exhibit unselfish devotion and significant contributions to student success, student interactions and successful experiences and outcomes, classroom success and effective learning results, innovations in teaching, leadership roles beyond the classroom, professional development activities and experiences that enhance teaching effectiveness, and past recognition and awards received as a faculty member.


The Innovator Award went to Director of Institutional Research Dr. Edwin Imasuen. It is presented to the HCC employee who has implemented a fresh or new idea that addresses the mission of the college. Selection criteria includes innovation that supports the college’s mission, impact of the innovation, cost effectiveness, sustainability, applications, and creativity.


The Staff Award was presented to Information Systems Manager Jerry Thompson. Selection is based on commitment and unique contributions to HCC, its students, and to the community college experience. Consistent, excellent performance on the job, exhibiting unselfish devotion to duty far and above normal requirements and significant contribution to the advancement of HCC and its students as well as responsible, efficient use of time, money, technology, personnel and/or other resources for the benefit of HCC, its students, and its community are considered.


The President’s Leadership Award is presented to an employee who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in support of HCC’s mission. The awards committee selects the recipient based on leadership traits, setting the example for others to follow, personal commitment and extraordinary dedication to the college mission, achievement and demonstrated accomplishments, and self-improvement. The recipients included Webmaster Daniel Bennett, History Instructor Shaun Stokes, Controller Mitchell Robinson, PRIDE of HCC Director Daniel Lovett, and Vice President of Academic Affairs Dr. Erica Holmes.


The Spirit Award went to ASPIRE Program Evaluator Ruby Ward. It is presented to the HCC employee who exemplifies cooperation and enthusiasm and serves as a positive reflection of the college’s mission. Selection is based on demonstrating a strong commitment to the community through activities that positively impact the region, participating in college activities, facilitating positive collaboration within the college, exhibiting a proactive attitude, motivating co-workers and students to excel, service as a spokesperson and advocate for the college, demonstrating a strong commitment to the college, and contributing to the effectiveness of the college to carry out its mission.


Service awards were given to full-time employees who have reached certain anniversaries of service. Those with five years of service were Sherry Agee, Willie Alston, Vicki Collier, Julie Dilday, Alfred Evans, Cathy Pruitt, David Graves, Dorothy Greene, Joanne Jolly, Peggy Lynn, Richard McCormick, Patricia Pryor, Marie Daniel-Sivels, Danny Smith, Stephanie Terry, Alice Vaughan, and Janet Wilson.


Those with 10 years of service were Joy Clippard, Ellen Grant, Shelia Grosser, Deborah Hawkins, Julia Horsley, Pat Hux, Leatrice Patillo, Catherine Robinson, Robin St. Sing, and Dawn Veliky.


Timothy Crowder, Nina Swink and Herbert “Boogie” Webb were recognized for 15 years of service.


Retirees recognized were D.J. Markham, Richard “Dick” McCormick and Cleophus Wilkins.


The Student Government Association also presented awards of appreciation. Dr. Ervin V. Griffin Sr. was honored for his continued support of SGA, Dot Greene for her dedicated service to SGA, and Dr. Carolyn Stuart for the many devoted hours she has given to the organization.